MTN appoints ex-NCC chief Ndukwe board chair as Dozie, 5 others retires

Worry, as another Air Peace jet gets involved in an accident
July 24, 2019
Zenith Bank Recompenses Mastercard Users
July 25, 2019

MTN appoints ex-NCC chief Ndukwe board chair as Dozie, 5 others retires

Chairman MTN Group, Phuthuma Nhleko (middle); Emir of Kano, Muhammadu Sanusi II (4th left); outgoing Chairman MTN Nigeria, Pascal Dozie (6th right; Chairman-designate, Ernest Ndukwe (2nd right) with other MTN family, during the retirement of the company’s board of directors and announcement of new ones in Abuja yesterday

Mobile telecommunications company MTN has appointed former Executive Vice Chairman, Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Mr. Ernest Ndukwe as chairman designate. The telecommunication company also appointed other board members to include the Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Ferdinand Moolman; Mr. Michael Onochie Ajukwu -independent non-executive director; Mr. Muhammad K. Ahmad- independent non-executive director; Mr. Andrew Alli- non-executive director; Mr. Rhidwaan Gasant -independent non-executive director; Mrs. Omobola Johnson- non-executive director; and Mr. A.B. Mahmoud- non-executive director.
Others are Mr. Ralph Mupita- non-executive director; Mr. Paul Norman- non-executive director; Mrs. Ifueko Okauru- non-executive director; Mr. Jens Schulte- Bockum-non-executive director; Group CEO, Mr. Rob Shuter- non-executive director and Mr. Karl Toriola-non-executive director.
A statement endorsed by the telco’s Company Secretary, Uto Ukpanah, also announced the retirement of the former chairman of MTN Nigeria Dr Pascal Dozie, the Vice chairman Col. Sani Bello (rtd), Chief Victor Odili, non-executive director; Mallam Ahmed Dasuki- non-executive director; Mr. Babatunde Folawiyo- non-executive director; and Mr. Gbenga Oyebode, non-executive director company’s board, effective from September 2, 2019.
The statement said their retirement was in compliance with applicable codes of Corporate Governance. “This is to inform The Nigerian Stock Exchange (The Exchange), the investing public and other stakeholders that following the expiration of their tenure and in compliance with applicable codes of Corporate Governance, the under listed Non-Executive Directors are retiring from the Board with effect from 2nd September 2019’’, the statement said Wednesday. MTN Nigeria CEO Ferdinand Moolman thanked the outgoing directors for their services to the company in the last 18 years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *